Digital Art

Game History: Assassin’s Creed Poster

We had to make a poster about a game we liked. In this poster we had to discuss various things like the paedeia (also known as the word you have to check ten times to make sure you spelled it right) and ludus rules. I first wanted to make this poster about a different game. Sadly that game was already taken by another student. Now, I am not saying that this choice was bad. I wouldn’t choose a game I detest. It’s one of my favourites.

First tryNow on to the project itself. The progress picture that you can see next to this text is my first try. I had misunderstood the whole assignment. I thought we had to make something good looking with minimal text. The word poster didn’t really scream the opposite. I was not so happy with this whole thing. It just didn’t look great. It felt empty. As if it was lacking the vital stuff. Nothing seemed like it could fit together. So I did what any reasonable person would do. Throw this version away and start anew.


Poster Ac finishThis poster is the final result. It represents the game so much better. When I look at this I can picture what this game is about. The other poster looked even worse when I held this next to it. I was a tad proud showing this version. Which could not be said for the other one. Luckily I was not too stubborn and tried something new. That said, I was stubborn in the beginning and had to skip a lesson to finish this on time. Next time I won’t be so adamant. This poster taught me that sometimes it’s better to try again instead of clinging to something terrible you made. A lot of people have this urge to keep doing what they’re doing simply because change is terrifying. You don’t know if you’re gonna fail. Let’s face it, it’s not fun to try so hard and still fail. I cannot stress enough how glad I am that I tried because it’s such an improvement.

Leave a Reply

