Game

Game Engines: Retro Game with extra element

I want to start with saying how proud I am of my project. There’s nothing more satisfying than programming something that works. I learned so much about programming when I was working on this. It felt like a huge step forward. This game is playable and fun. I can’t help but smile when I think about it. I love programming yet it’s something I still have to work on. A new language and a new program. Throughout this year we learned how to work with this. We learned only very basic stuff. But as any other language, you need to take time and learn stuff on your own.

Screenshot (161)I based my game on tron, a game I used to play a lot when I was 13-14. And gave it a fitting name. Tron with a Twist. (Fun fact: After I sent my project to the teacher, my dad noticed something amusing about the name. I won’t tell you straight away but if you’ll shorten the name to only the first letters of each word… Then you will see what my dad found so hysterical. I don’t know why I didn’t notice it any sooner.)


Screenshot (164)Maybe I should explain to you how it works. At the bottom you can see a health bar. That health bar contains 3 lives. (Meaning you have to be hit 3 times in order to die) This allows you to escape certain death scenario’s. You can also see some little green squares in the picture. These fly to a random destination. You can be hit by them and they will take away one of your lives. Hitting a wall also results in minus one for your lives. Hitting the edge of the screen is instant death.


Being given the opportunity to go through your or the other player’s wall and still be alive (but at the cost of one of your lives) spices things up. You have to make choices. Can I survive this? Will I make it? Do I have to sacrifice one of my lives? Small decisions that you need to make fast. I played it a couple times with my friends. I like being able to sacrifice a life in order to ‘kill’ the other player. This game was a succes. Even if the teacher would think it’s bad (I’m not saying he does. Just if ) Then I still would be more than happy with the result.

Leave a Reply

